$10,000 in Ojai Studio Artist Art Scholarships Awarded in City Hall Reception

 Audrey Hernandez of Nordhoff High School was presented the top Ojai Studio Artists’ 2016 art scholarship at a celebratory reception at the Ojai City Hall on Saturday afternoon.  OSA Scholarship Committee Chair Richard Franklin presented the promising art student the “Ojai Award” of $2000.  In all, Franklin awarded over $10,000 in scholarships to nineteen Ventura County art students.

Three runner-ups for the award received $1000 each. They are Marissa Gonzales of Adolfo Camarillo High School in Camarillo and Hugo Castillo, a student at California State University of Channel Islands, and Lizabeth Zamora from Nordoff High School.

Three students received $800 scholarships. They are Logan Werner, student at Thousand Oaks High School, Leah Kopp from Foothill Technology High School in Ventura and Reiko Heartland, a student at Santa Barbara City College, who received the Beatrice Wood Award.

The Rotary Ojai West Award of $500 was awarded to Kayla Petrucci of Ojai, a student at Ventura College.  Ashley Konzmann, also a student at Ventura College, was awarded the Otto Heino Award for $500.  Three other artists were awarded $500 scholarships.  They are Amber Talbot from Nordhoff High School, Jonathan Weiser a student at Ventura College and Bailey Huerta of Fillmore, a student at Moorpark High School. 

An Honorary Award of $100 was awarded to Monica Torres of Oxnard, a student at Pacifica High School. Six other Honorary Awards of $50 were awarded to Lynn Holmes of Camarillo, a student at Ventura College, David Leighton from Brooks Institute, Lauryn Wood from Oak Park High School, Miles Reitz of Foothill Technology High School in Ventura, Judah Stewart of Adolfo Camarillo High School and Morgan Pupa from Nordhoff High School.

In OSA’s 23 year-old scholarship program, the art organization has awarded over $210,000 in scholarships. This year’s $10,000 total marked a new high in scholarship fundraising. The prestigious Beatrice Wood and Otto and Vivika Heino awards honor the legacy of these important Ojai artists and past OSA members. The Ojai and Rotary West Ojai awards go specifically to local students.

Selected works by the scholarship winners will be shown at a two-month exhibition at City Gallery, located at 410 S. Ventura Street, Ojai. The Ojai Arts Commission generously hosted and installed the show throughout City Hall for the benefit of the public.

OSA Scholarship Winners

OSA Scholarship Winners

About Ojai Studio Artists

The organization’s mission is to create an environment where artists thrive ― professional and student alike — and fulfill the potential of the arts to enrich lives and build community.


Second Saturday Open Studios: June 11, July 9, August 13 and December 10, Artisan’s Holiday Gift Tour.  Studios open 10 am – 3 pm. Admittance is free.

Ojai Studio Tour: October 8, 9 & 10, Saturday, Sunday &-Monday: 60+ artists, 10 am to 5 pm

Advance Tickets:  $30 in advance, $35 day of event, $20/person for groups of 10 or more, $15 for students, 17 & under free. Ticket includes studio visits all three days and admission to Saturday’s Gala Reception. Tickets and Tour brochures available at ojaistudioartists.org.



press_release_iconGet Citizensjournal.us Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments