The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association takes positions on issues of direct concern to taxpayers.  We also may take positions on ballot measures that will impact the economy.    Because initiatives (measures placed on the ballot through signature gathering) have, by law, been moved to the November ballot, HJTA will list most recommendations this fall.

The one statewide proposition that will appear on the June ballot is Proposition 50.

Proposition 50 was placed on the ballot by the Legislature following three corruption scandals in 2014.  Should the measure pass, legislators who are suspended will no longer receive pay and benefits.  However, Prop 50 also requires that a legislator can be suspended by a two-thirds vote of the legislative body, not a majority vote as under current law.  Because the measure actually makes it more difficult to suspend a legislator, it only represents ‘fig leaf’ reform. As such HJTA-PAC cannot take a position on Proposition 50.

The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association Political Action Committee endorses candidates based on their support for Proposition 13 and taxpayers’ rights.  The primary focus of HJTA-PAC is on candidates for the State Legislature, which is the source of most of the attacks on Proposition 13.

HJTA-PAC is non-partisan, but we find that Republican candidates tend to be more supportive of Proposition 13 than are Democrats.

HJTA-PAC does not endorse in all races.  Among the reasons can be:  There is more than one qualified candidate; there are no qualified candidates; no candidate was interested in an HJTA-PAC endorsement.  Choices in many races will be more clear in the general election.

Here are the only officially HJTA-PAC endorsed candidates for the June 7, Primary Election.


U.S. Senate

Thomas Del Beccaro

House of Representatives

CD 1  Doug Lamalfa

CD 6  Robert Evans

CD 23  Kevin McCarthy

CD 31  Paul Chabot

CD 44  Christopher Castillo

CD 45  Mimi Walters

CD 47  Andrew Whallon


State Senate

SD 5  Alan Nakanishi

SD 17  Palmer Kain

SD 21  Scott Wilk

SD 23  Mike Morrell

SD 25  Mike Antonovich

SD 27  Steve Fazio

SD 29  Ling Ling Chang

SD 37  John Moorlach


State Assembly

AD 3  James Gallagher 

AD 9  Tim Gorsulowsky

AD 26  Devon Mathis

AD 34  Vincent Fong

AD 35  Jordan Cunningham

AD 42  Chad Mayes

AD 48  Cory Ellenson

AD 67   Melissa Melendez

AD 66  David Hadley

AD 71  Randy Voepel

AD 73  Bill Brough

AD 79  John Moore


HJTA1Paid for by Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association State PAC and No New Taxes, a Project of the Howard Jarvis Taxpayers AssociationThis advertisement was not authorized or paid for by a candidate for any office or a committee controlled by a candidate for any office.



press_release_iconGet Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE