California Family Council holds May 15 Sacramento rally opposing AB 2943

By Michael Hernandez

SACRAMENTO—The California Family Council is organizing a short rally on the North Steps of the Capitol Tuesday, May 15th from 1-1:30 p.m. with guest speakers.   Rally participants will then visit Senate offices from 1:30-4 p.m. to express opposition to AB 2943—a bill that outlaws resources, conferences, or paid counseling for anyone with unwanted same-sex desires or gender confusion.  For info go to:

AB 2943 is currently in the Senate Judiciary Committee, but a hearing date has not been set. Visit for more bill info.

The California Family Council urges “concerned citizens” to contact the LGBT Caucus members who are sponsoring the bill.  They include:

  • Assemblymember Evan Low – 28th Assembly District: Capitol # (916) 319-2028
  • Senator Ricardo Lara –  33rd Senate District: Capitol # (916) 651-4033
  • Senator Toni G. Atkins – 39th Senate District: Capitol # (916) 651-4039
  • Senator Scott Wiener – 11th Senate District: Capitol # (916) 651-4011
  • Senator Cathleen Galgiani – 5th Senate District: Capitol # (916) 651-4005
  • Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes – 60th Assembly District: Capitol # (916) 319-2060
  • Assemblymember Susan Eggman – 13th Assembly District: Capitol # (916) 319-2013
  • Assemblymember Todd Gloria – 78th Assembly District: Capitol # (916) 319-2078

AB 2943 was approved 8-1 by the Assembly Judiciary Committee on April 10th.

Assembly member Kevin Kiley (R) voted no. Assembly member Jordan Cunningham (R) didn’t vote.  Assembly members Ed Chau (D), David Chiu (D), Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D), Chris Holden (D), Ash Kalra (D), Brian Maienschein (R), Eloise Gómez Reyes (D), and Mark Stone (D) voted yes.

The California Family Council is asking the public to call their offices and let them know what you think about how they voted.

AB 2943 was approved by the Assembly on Thursday, April 19th 50-18. Here is how members voted:

Ayes: Aguiar-Curry, Arambula, Baker, Berman, Bloom, Bonta, Burke, Caballero, Carrillo, Cervantes, Chau, Chiu, Chu, Cooley, Cooper, Daly, Eggman, Frazier, Friedman, Eduardo Garcia, Gipson, Gloria, Gonzalez Fletcher, Grayson, Holden, Irwin, Jones-Sawyer, Kalra, Kamlager-Dove, Levine, Limón, Low, Maienschein, McCarty, Medina, Muratsuchi, Nazarian, O’Donnell, Quirk-Silva, Reyes, Rodriguez, Rubio, Salas, Santiago, Mark Stone, Thurmond, Ting, Weber, Wood, Rendon.

Noes: Travis Allen, Bigelow, Brough, Chávez, Chen, Choi, Dahle, Fong, Gallagher, Harper, Kiley, Lackey, Mathis, Mayes, Obernolte, Patterson, Steinorth, Waldron.

No Votes Recorded: Acosta, Calderon, Cunningham, Flora, Cristina Garcia, Gray, Melendez, Mullin, Quirk, Voepel.

Here is suggested letter language for those wishing to oppose the bill.

Reference material opposing AB 2943:

Leaders and organizations explaining their opposition to AB 2943

Other reference material related to AB 2943


(Editor’s Note:  Please see link to reference materials on AB 2943:


Michael Hernandez, Co-Founder of the Citizens JournalVentura Countys online news service, founder of History Makers Internationala community nonprofit serving youth and families in Ventura County, is a former Southern California daily newspaper journalist and religion and news editor.  He has worked 23 years as a middle school teacher.   Mr. Hernandez can be contacted by email:  [email protected].

Mr. Hernandez is dedicated himself to advance the 13 spheresas a City Upon A Hill; developing an interactive California citizens news platform as an alternative to mainstream media; while building local school-community partnerships and supporting constitutional awareness and active citizenship.

Get Headlines free SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing DONATE  



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments