Child Passenger Safety Week is Sept. 19-25

DATE: September 17, 2021

SUBJECT: Child Passenger Safety Week

CONTACT: Jose Diaz, Senior Officer  (805) 385-7749 | j[email protected]  

Oxnard, CA – As part of Child Passenger Safety Week, the Oxnard Police Department wants to make sure your child is in the right child safety seat.

Child Passenger Safety Week is Sept. 19-25 and focuses on educating parents and caregivers about the importance of choosing, installing, and using the correct car seat.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among children, and nearly half of car seats (46%) are misused.

California law requires a child to be properly secured in a safety seat until they are at least 8 years of age. Children 8 and older, who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted safety belt. Children under the age of 2 must ride rear-facing or until they reach 40 pounds or 40 inches in height. 

To search for cat seat programs in your county, the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) has a dropdown menu on the OTS website. You may also contact your local CHP Area Office to schedule a free safety seat inspection.

Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.


Get Citizensjournal.us Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments