New Ventura City Councilmembers sworn in

Ventura, Calif. — The City of Ventura has sworn-in three newly elected Councilmembers at the City Council reorganization meeting hosted on Monday, December 14, 2020.
Doug Halter, Mike Johnson, and Joe Schroeder each took oaths of office for council districts 2, 3 and 7. The new members join the seven-seat Council, which includes Mayor Sofia Rubalcava (District 1) and Councilmembers Erik Nasarenko (District 4), Jim Friedman (District 5), and Lorrie Brown (District 6).
The Council also held nominations for the elections of mayor and deputy mayor, which are two-year terms. Sofia Rubalcava was selected as the mayor and Joe Schroeder was selected as the deputy mayor. Mayor Rubalcava is the first Latina woman to serve as Mayor on the Ventura City Council.
During the virtual meeting, the Council, city staff, and community members also recognized and thanked outgoing Councilmembers, including Mayor Matt LaVere, who served from 2016 – 2020, Councilmember Christy Weir, who served from 2003 – 2020, and Councilmember Cheryl Heitmann, who served from 2011 – 2020.
The City Council meeting and oath of office ceremony are available for viewing on the City of Ventura’s YouTube at
To learn more about the Ventura City Council, visit

Get Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments