Thousand Oaks, CA | August Traffic Safety Awareness

Child Passenger Safety

The Thousand Oaks Police Department strives to promote traffic safety within the community. In an effort to recognize certain hazards while driving, the Traffic Bureau is continuing a monthly traffic awareness reminder program, addressing a traffic topic each month. While we focus on a specific topic each month, it’s always imperative to constantly strive to follow all rules of the road. The month of August is dedicated to “Child Passenger Safety.”

Now with the school season finally upon us, it’s a perfect time to review basic safety rules to keep our kids out of harm’s way. Motor vehicle injuries are a leading cause of death among children in the United States, but many of these deaths can be prevented. Buckling children in age and size appropriate car seats, booster seats, and seat belts reduces serious and fatal injuries by more than half.

Let’s not forget that safety goes beyond the use of child restraint systems. According to the National Safety Council, dozens of children die every year in hot cars, with incidents peaking between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Never leave your child in a car unattended. 17% of the deaths were caused from the child intentionally being left in a car by an adult. Take your child out of the car every time no matter the temperature.

Let’s review some basic child safety restraint laws here in California:

27360 California Vehicle Code

(a) Except as provided in Section 27363, a parent, legal guardian, or driver who transports a child under eight years of age on a highway in a motor vehicle, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 27315, shall properly secure that child in a rear seat in an appropriate child passenger restraint system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards. (b) Except as provided in Section 27363, a parent, legal guardian, or driver who transports a child under two years of age on a highway in a motor vehicle, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 27315, shall properly secure the child in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system that meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards, unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the child passenger restraint system.

27360.5 California Vehicle Code

(a) A parent, legal guardian, or driver shall not transport on a highway in a motor vehicle, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 27315, a child or ward who is eight years of age or older, but less than 16 years of age, without properly securing that child or ward in an appropriate child passenger restraint system or safety belt meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards. As of 2012, California law requires that children be properly secured in the back seat in a proper child restraint system until they are at least eight years old. Additionally, all children under age 16 must be properly secured in either a proper child restraint system or seat belt. On a first offense, a child passenger violation will cost a minimum of $475 with penalty assessments. A second or subsequent offense carries a minimum cost of $1,055. If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.

The Thousand Oaks Traffic Bureau recognizes these are just a few of the topics that might come up during family safety talks. The important thing is to have regular safety discussions as a family, such as during dinner, at bedtime, or another time when you are interacting with your child. Making it a part of your regular routine will help instill a safety focus in your child that will help them through the rest of their life.

For more information on child passenger safety, please visit:

 https://www.ots.ca.gov/child-passenger-safety/

https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/child_passenger_safety/index.html

https://www.nsc.org/road-safety/safety-topics/child-passenger-safety

Nature of Incident: August Traffic Safety Awareness – Child Passenger Safety

Location: Thousand Oaks, CA

Date & Time: Month of August 2021

Unit(s) Responsible: Thousand Oaks Police Department – Traffic Bureau


Get Citizensjournal.us Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
1 Comment
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bruce Boyer, candidate for Ventura County Sheriff

In reading this is had the tone of mommy telling the little children what they should do. Thats my take. I would like to read articles written as one consenting responsible adult to others, so Douglas, please take this as constr criticism. I appreciate the posting of the actual law. I ask the reader to reread the CV sections and ask yourself whether the law allows a child seat under eight years old; when the vehicle has no rear seat? The answer is no. Therefore the driver is ‘breaking the law”. This is the kind of BS that is The Nanny State and as Sheriff I would not enforce. Further; if a parent needs the kid in the front seat; then that’s the parents choice. Dont … air bag” as again not every vehicle has them and there are situations where the parent decides it best for the child to be in the front seat. I will defend the parent’s rights and decision making authority; end the nanny-state where politicians dictate too you what you are to do where politicians decide how you will parent your children. You all can watch how some Dem-prog nanny will now accuse me of ‘allowing parents to endanger their children by holding babies out the window of cars while doing 60mph!!!”… You know they will.. laugh along!