Thursday, August 11, 2022
77.1 F

    Latest Posts

    The Road to Tyranny by Don Jans

    Ventura Police Department Informs Community On How To “Know Your Limit”

    Sponsored - Job Posting

    We are a small but mighty business in Ventura, CA specializing in Civil/Agricultural Engineering and Land Surveying. Going strong for over 35 years. Looking for motivated team players for immediate hire. Candidates must have at least 3 years of experience in Civil Engineering, Land Surveying, and AutoCAD Civil 3D. Must want to grow with the company. For the right person, management potential. Wages will depend on experience. Benefits include paid holidays, matching retirement plan & much more. Send resumes to: [email protected]

    YCE, Inc. is an Equal Opportunity Employer. Tel:

    Ventura, Calif. —  The Ventura Police Department will have officers in downtown Ventura educating the public on how to monitor alcohol intake and “know your limit” on July 30, 2021, from 6p.m. – 10:00p.m.

    During this time, officers will ask patrons how many drinks they have consumed and whether they believe it is safe to drive. Officers will provide information on the impacts of alcohol on one’s ability to drive, and the consequences of a DUI. 

    “The goal is to help our residents understand the effects of alcohol so they can make smart decisions when deciding how to get home,” said Officer Bernadette Compean, the Ventura Police Alcohol Enforcement Officer. “It only takes a few drinks to become impaired, which is why it is important that drivers know their limit.” 

    The “Know Your Limit” program is intended to raise awareness about the dangers of drinking and driving. It is illegal for anyone 21 and older to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. 

    A person’s height, weight, food intake, drug and/or medication use and how much they drink over a time period are all factors that affect their BAC. According to the California Driver Handbook, it takes two drinks consumed within one hour by a woman between 120-160 pounds ,and three drinks by a man between 180-220 pounds, to be over the legal limit. One drink is based on 1.5 oz. of liquor, 12 oz. of beer, or a 5 oz. glass of wine. The BAC lowers at a rate of .01% for every 40 minutes between drinks. 

    The average cost of a first-time DUI offense is approximately $13,500, accounting for vehicle impound fees, fines, attorney fees, auto insurance hikes, and other penalties. Plan ahead and avoid the risk of a DUI by designating a sober driver. 

    Funding for the “Know Your Limit” program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. To learn more about the Office of Traffic Safety grant and VPD’s educational efforts, visit or contact Emily Graves, Community Outreach Specialist with the Ventura Police Department, at [email protected]

    Get Headlines free  SUBSCRIPTION. Keep us publishing – DONATE

    - Advertisement -
    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of

    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments

    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss


    To receive the news in your inbox

    Would love your thoughts, please comment.x